How To Use The Mute Feature On Twitter

Twitter

Twitter is a ‘micro-blogging’ system that allows you to send and receive short posts called tweets. Tweets can be up to 140 characters long and can include links to relevant websites and resources. Twitter has become increasingly popular with academics as well as students, policymakers, politicians and the general public. Many users struggled to understand what Twitter is and how they could use it, but it has now become the social media platform of choice for many.

Twitter also allows users to customize their experience on the platform. One of the most important ways you can do that is by utilizing Twitter’s mute feature. Mute is considered one of the coolest features of Twitter. It is a less severe form of block. When you mute someone, they will be able to see your tweets, follow you (in case, they don’t), tweet to you, retweet your tweets and even DM you. However, their tweets and retweets become invisible to you.

THINGS TO KNOW BEFORE YOU MUTE SOMEBODY:

For muted accounts that you follow:
  1. Replies and mentions by the muted account will still appear in your Notifications tab.
  2. Tweets from a muted account – posted before the account was muted – will be removed from your Home timeline.
  3. When you click or tap into a conversation, replies from muted accounts will be visible.
For muted accounts that you do not follow:
  1. Replies and mentions will not appear in your Notifications tab.
  2. If you mute an account you do not follow and they start a conversation that mentions you, you will only receive notifications from those you do follow who reply in the conversation and mention you. If you’d like to view all of your mentions, you can do so by searching your username.
  3. When you click or tap into a conversation, replies from muted accounts will be not visible.
  4. If an account you have not muted Retweets with comments an account you have muted, the Tweet will be hidden with a “This Tweet is unavailable message”.

STEPS TO MUTE SOMEONE:

Muting an account will not cause you to unfollow them and neither will they be removed from your followers. Similarly, muted accounts can follow you and you can follow muted accounts.

From a user profile:
  1. Open the profile page of the person you want to mute.
  2. Select the three-dot menu icon on the page.
  3. Select Mute from the menu.
From a tweet:
  1. Open the Tweet and select the down arrow icon.
  2. Select Mute.

Once you’ve muted an account on the web, you will see a confirmation banner. If you made a mistake, you can click Undo to unmute the account. You can see your full list of muted accounts by going to your Muted account settings on twitter.com or by visiting your app settings on Twitter for iOS or Android.

STEPS TO UNMUTE SOMEONE:

  1. Visit the muted account’s profile on Twitter.
  2. On twitter.com, click the mute icon to unmute.

or

On the Twitter app for iOS or Android, tap Unmute next to You have muted Tweets from this account.

Now you know how to avoid awkward social situations in which you have to explain to someone why you blocked them on Twitter.

STEPS TO KNOW IF SOMEONE HAS MUTED YOU:

  1. Open TweetDeck.
  2. In the main view create a Home column.
  3. Add the name of the user you suspect has muted you.
  4. Post a Tweet to all your followers and then watch to see if it appears in the Home column.
  5. If your Tweet does not appear in the column, it is likely that you have been muted.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *